Central West Farming Systems Executive Committee


Josh Gordon

Manager International Engagement, Foreign Direct Investment, Grains, Oilseeds & Pulses, Orange HO

Josh has worked with the IEU since January 2015. Having spent seven years as Speciality Canola Business Manager and Australian Speciality Grains Manager for Cargill. Prior to this he worked for AWB Limited in commodity marketing roles and spent nine years with NSW DPI in agronomic research and industry development roles including Executive Officer of the Durum Industry Association. Josh has a Degree in Agricultural Science and holds Australian Financial Markets Association (AFMA) accreditation.


Vice Chairman

Ruth Klinger

Ruth, in partnership with her mother, sister and brother run a mixed farming business on their properties at Forbes and Cudal. On their farms they run Ridgehaven Poll Dorset stud, Bowan Park trial flock, commercial prime lamb enterprise, self-replacing merino flock, beef cattle and cropping.

Ruth, and her husband Graeme, have four children aged 8-13. In addition to her family and running the farm business, Ruth is involved in a number of farming and community committees and organisations. She has been on the CWFS executive since 2015.



Graham McDonald

Graham McDonald spent his childhood on a farm near Lake Cargelligo. He left school in 1970 in time for the large machinery boom of the 70’s. Graham has been involved in CWFS since its inception in 1998, including a term as Chairman. Now a partner in a mixed farming operation north west of Condobolin along with his brother David and son James running a merino flock joined to Merino rams and another joined to White Suffolk rams, along with cropping.

Graham’s main interest in being involved in CWFS is to attract relevant research to the western cropping areas and explore new technology/crops to improve profitability. How we adapt to the challenges of the next 10 years will crucial.



David McDonald - Condobolin

David has been an executive committee member since the commencement of CWFS in 1998. David was born in Lake Cargelligo and grew up on a farm locally before moving to farm in the Condobolin district. David runs a mixed farming business comprising cereals, canola, merino sheep and first cross operations.

Committee member

Lawrence Higgins - Merriwagga

Lawrence Higgins has been on the CWFS executive since the inception of the organisation in 1998. Lawrence has been a farmer within the Merriwagga area since 1962 on a family farm as well as leased and share farmed land. The main driver for being part of Central West farming Systems has been to help conduct research that is relevant to the Merriwagga area. In 1998 majority of the agricultural research being extended was conducted in Wagga Wagga and wasn’t relevant to the drier climate at Merriwagga.

Committee member

Dan Mattiske


Committee member

David Watt - Trundle

David, with his wife Mary, run a mixed farming business encompassing sheep, winter cropping and TMFL feedlot over several properties in Central NSW near Trundle. Focused on Lamb finishing the farm is managed to exploit the synergies of a mixed enterprise production system.

TMFL feedlot is active in the store market as well as finishing lambs from David’s Merino and 1st cross ewe flock. Winter crops include Canola, Wheat, Barley, Oats, Lupins, Vetch and forage rape, while pastures are predominantly legume based.

David has been involved at the executive and committee level in many local organisations including Central West Farming Systems, Producer advisory Panel for Sheep Connect NSW and SALRC. He holds an advanced diploma of business management and is a graduate of the Australian Institute of Company Directors.

Committee member

Guy Webb

Guy Webb was a farmer in the Condobolin district for the first 10 years of his career. He moved into agronomy and biofertilizer product development for the subsequent 20 years, practicing around Gympie, Goondiwindi and now Forbes. Guy has focused much of career towards soil health and its nutritional and biological aspects that influence sustainable and regenerative crop and pasture production.

Most recently Guy has focused on farmer-adoptable methods to rapidly increase soil organic carbon levels, and presently is the founder and Managing Director of Soil C Quest 2031, a NFP research institute exploring microbial carbon sequestration inoculums and carbon positive farming methods. Guy holds a deep belief that finding methods to rapidly build soil carbon in agricultural soils holds the key to greater farmer profitability, improved food security and resilience, and importantly a potentially scalable mitigation strategy to help address dangerous climate change.

Guy is honoured to be part of the CWFS committee and is highly motivated to make positive contributions to the important work of this dedicated organisation.


Committee member

Dr Libby Roesner

Libby grew up in Sydney and had a small ‘weekend’ farm in Oberon. Did an Ag Science degree with Honours in Soil Science, and a PhD in Soil Physics at Sydney University. Worked as a Pasture Agronomist with NSW Agriculture/DPI at the Condobolin Research Station for 10 years, also taught IT, MYOB and Business Management at Condo TAFE.

Libby has found a passion for NRM and the environment and has been the Local Landcare Coordinator since 2016. Condobolin has been home for 22 yrs, has been farming here for 11 yrs. Libby wants to be a positive influence on the community, and is interested in regenerative agriculture and optimistic for the future of agriculture in our local area.


Committee member

Warren Lander

Warren currently works in the role of Territory Sales Manager for AWB / Cargill, covering the Central West area and based in Forbes. Warren has an extensive background in agriculture, having been born and bred in the Grenfell district and growing up on his family’s mixed farming enterprise. After nearly 20 years of experiencing the highs and lows of family farming and exclusive cropping, Warren and his wife decided to move out of the farming business and move into the agribusiness sector. Warren has studied agriculture at The University of Sydney.